Skip navigation

Native American Commission

The mission of the Fargo Native American Commission (NAC) is to work together to strengthen the Native American community to promote understanding, recognition, and respect for cultures and to enrich the community as a whole. The NAC is committed to a shared vision that nurtures Native American culture and values. The NAC assists in funding events that fit within its mission. For more information about NAC sponsorships or to apply for funding, please contact the Fargo Planning Department at 701-241-1474 or

Native American Commission Sponsorship Application (doc) (pdf)

The Native American Commission's goals are:

  • Define the funding priorities for Native American programs and services.
  • Determine the services that might be provided by a facility to serve the Native American community.
  • Recommend an effective anti-racism education model and facilitate city and community participation in training.

The Native American Commission's guiding values are:

  • Respect for one another
  • Good stewardship of resources, funds, land, water, air, natural resources, people - especially children
  • Family togetherness/healing
  • Fostering relationships - past, present and future
  • Commitment to service, accountability and integrity
  • Humility
  • Empathy
  • Healthy lifestyles, choices, and community/personal responsibility

Meeting Schedule and Location

Native American Commission meetings are broadcast live on cable channel TV Fargo 56 on the first Thursday of each month at 5:30 p.m. in the City Commission Room at 200 3rd St. N. and can be seen live by video stream on They are rebroadcast each Tuesday at 8 p.m. and Thursday at 5 p.m.


Clinton Alexander, Chair
(Anishinaabe) White Earth Ojibwe Nation

Guy Fox, Vice Chair
(Hidatsa) Three Affiliated Tribes of Fort Berthold 

Sharon White Bear
(Arikara) Three Affiliated Tribes of Fort Berthold

Connie Longie
Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa

Maylynn Warne
Pawnee Nation of Oklahoma/Santa Ana Pueblo

Lenore King
Dakota Sisseton Wahpeton Oyate

John Strand, Fargo City Commission

Rebecca Knutson, Fargo School Board


Dan Mahli, City of Fargo Liaison

Willard Yellow Bird Jr., City of Fargo Liaison

Vincent Kempf, City of Fargo Police Liaison

Tanya RedRoad, Fargo Human Relations Commission Liaison

Agendas & Minutes

2015 Agendas & Minutes
2016 Agendas & Minutes
2017 Agendas & Minutes