Skip navigation

Community Development Committee

The Community Development Committee makes recommendations to the City Commission regarding land development, including the use of economic incentives and grant funds. The Committee's main focuses are on affordable housing, downtown development, and neighborhood redevelopment. 

Committee Responsibilities

The Committee evaluates how well the City's current housing and development programs are working. It also examines new programs and major changes proposed for existing programs. In addition, the Committee may recommend that the City initiate special studies and plans. 

Committee Members

The committee consists of 12 members:

  • Three elected officials;
  • Three at-large community representatives;
  • Three appointed officials;
  • A representative of the Downtown Community Partnership;
  • A representative of the Home Builders Association of Fargo-Moorhead, and;
  • A representative of the United Way of Cass-Clay. 

Meeting Schedule and Location

The Committee meets on the third Tuesday of each month at 3:00 p.m. in the City Commission Room at 200 3rd St. N.

Meetings are broadcast live on cable channel TV Fargo 56 and can be seen live by video stream on They are rebroadcast each Monday at 12 p.m. and Thursday at 3:30 p.m.

People with disabilities who plan to attend the meeting and need special accommodations should contact the Planning Office at 701-241-1474 or TDD at 701-241-8258. Please contact us at least 48 hours before the meeting to give our staff adequate time to make arrangements.  For more information, contact Dan Mahli at